19 January 2023

LGCT Doha 2022, A Look Back

LGCT Doha 2022, A Look Back

The Longines Global Champions Tour of Doha 2022 saw 51 riders from 19 different countries make their way to Al Shaqab, Doha, to take on the best of the best in Qatar’s capital city. 

A weekend full of high-stake competitions under the stunning soaring architecture of the Longines Arena at Al Shaqab ensued, with new pages written into the history books. 

At the opening press conference last year, Omar Al Mannai, Event Director, spoke of hosting the event in Doha for the 15th year saying: "This has become an annual event in Doha since it started in 2008. Here at Al Shaqab, it is the best facilities ever for this kind of sport and the perfect venue to kick off the Longines Global Champions Tour. The growth of the sport has been tremendous in Qatar and that is why the leading riders love competing here."

Securing the first golden ticket of the 2022 season, the LGCT Grand Prix of Doha trophy was lifted by none other than podium veteran Ludger Beerbaum. Stealing the spotlight in the stunning Longines Arena at Al Shaqab, Beerbaum secured the win aboard his impressive Mila, finishing over half a second ahead of hot favourites Henrik Von Eckermann and King Edward. 

Speaking of the LGCT Doha Grand Prix winner, LGCT and GCL Founder and President Jan Tops said: “I have known Ludger for many many decades. It is amazing to see at his age how he still has the finesse to win against the best in the world. He always was and he proves again that he can still do it. It is an amazing achievement, especially with the horse not having so much experience at this kind of tracks.”

The GCL of Doha trophy was lifted by what would turn out to be season favourites, the Stockholm Hearts. Represented by Malin Baryard-Johnsson, Peder Fredricson and Olivier Philippaerts, the Stockholm Hearts posted a faultless scoreboard, taking the win from the Hamburg Giants of Jur Vrieling and Bart Bles.


LGCT Grand Prix of Doha 2022

My vision is clear. Only the best for the best.
Jan Tops - Founder & President