02 September 2022

Breen Reigns Supreme In Closely Fought LGCT Rome 5* Battle On Day 1

Breen Reigns Supreme In Closely Fought LGCT Rome 5* Battle On Day 1

The Longines Global Champions Tour of Rome is back for another year, with the worlds best horse and rider combinations fighting it out for podium position in one of the most iconic equestrian venues in history.

For the second time in over 2000 years, the Circus Maximus in Rome, plays host to three days of world-class show jumping, hospitality and spectating. The first five-star competition of the LGCT Rome, 2022 came to a nail bighting finish with the top three riders posting a time within 0.04 seconds of each other, and the top 9 riders all being within 1.17 seconds of each other.

Taking out the win was the incredible Irishman, Shane Breen aboard his chestnut gelding, 27 Ipswich. A close shave in second place was second last rider to go Abdel Said aboard Enticelle d’Ellipse who was short changed by the clock, just 0.03 of a second behind Breen.

With spectators and podium position holders kept on the edge of their seats right until the last two riders, Sameh El Dahan aboard WKD Toronto left caution in the stables, with a time of 23.52 seconds.

The flying Frenchman, Kevin Staut, aboard his Emir de Moens Harcour, an 8-year-old gelding looked unchallenged by the course and held the lead for the majority of the class with a competitive time of 23.82 seconds.

The experienced course designing team of Uliano Vezzani, Pier Francesco Bazzocchi, Mario Breccia and Paolo Rossato asked all the right questions in all the right places, with 19 of the 56 starters jumping clear, meaning an ultra-fast and competitive second phase was sure to thrill all who watched.

An ancient Roman chariot racing stadium, the Circus Maximus was constructed in the sixth century BCE. Positioned between the Palentine and Aventine Hills in the centre of ancient Rome, the LGCT returns to this incredible venue for the second year.


    Copyright: STEFANO< GRASSO

    My vision is clear. Only the best for the best.
    Jan Tops - Founder & President