GCTV Replay: LGCT Grand Prix of Valkenswaard 2019

This week's GCTV Replay takes you back to Valkenswaard, The Netherlands - the spiritual home of the Longines Global Champions Tour. The event has always been a favourite with riders, owners and partners alike with its state-of-the-art facilities designed with the horse as the priority, created by Founder and President Jan Tops and raising the bar in equestrian sport to new heights.

 

In the stunning LGCT Grand Prix of Valkenswaard Presented by Tennor, Dutch star Maikel van der Vleuten (NED) faced down the heavyweights of show jumping to pull off an extraordinary home win. The crowd were on the edge of their seats as some of the biggest names in the sport failed to make the grade in dramatic fashion, as Maikel pulled out all the stops with Dana Blue to seal the win, having already qualified for the LGCT Super Grand Prix at the GC Prague Playoffs. 

 

It was van der Vleuten’s second Longines Global Champions Tour Grand Prix win of the 2019 season and he praised his 11-year-old grey mare Dana Blue, owned by Marta Ortega, saying: “She is a great mare, she always fights for me. If you see the many good riders in the jump off you can do no more. It is a real pleasure for me and very nice to win in front of the home crowd and the first time in Valkenswaard, so it is a big one for me.”

 

Re-live every moment of this incredible competition on Saturday 11 July from 10:30 BST/11:30 CET/04:30 EST. The replay will be available to watch on demand for 24 hours.