GCTV Replay: LGCT Grand Prix of Rome 2019

The Longines Global Champions Tour headed to the magical city of Rome in September 2019, taking the best in show jumping to compete in the heart of the Italian 'Eternal City'. The historic and beautiful city of Rome has been attracting visitors for over two millennia and continues to be one of the most fascinating destinations in the world, with iconic attractions such as the Colosseum, Pantheon, The Vatican, Roman Forum, and more, and the unique Stadio dei Marmi made an exceptional setting for top show jumping.

 

The supremely talented combination of Ben Maher (GBR) and Explosion W faced down their rivals and sealed their second LGCT Grand Prix victory in a row in the dramatic setting, propelling Ben into the lead at this crucial stage of the season in the overall LGCT Championship ranking, before the final sprint to the 2019 Finals in New York. A thrilled Ben said: “Rome has been a lucky show for me in the last two years and Explosion loves the arena here and with the Italian crowd. It was a big Grand Prix today with not many clear rounds and it was an exciting class to be in. I am very happy and now and I will just enjoy the Grand Prix win and the overall Championship is important.”

 

You can re-live every moment of this spectacular competition in our full GCTV Replay this weekend on Saturday 18 July from 10:30 BST/11:30 CET/04:30 EST. The replay will be available on demand for 24 hours.