GCTV Replay: LGCT Grand Prix of London 2019

 

British superstar Ben Maher and his exceptional horse Explosion W pulled off a stunning victory on home turf last August to claim the LGCT Grand Prix of London, presented by Tennor, in front of an enthusiastic sell-out crowd at the unique venue of the Royal Hospital Chelsea.

 

The hugely talented 10-year-old gelding Explosion W showed his astonishing speed and pinpoint accuracy, as the consistent combination sailed over Alan Wade’s challenging courses clear in an unassailable 35.98 seconds. Of the four clears in the 12-strong jump-off, theirs was the only one under 36 seconds, and it marked the popular rider’s first LGCT Grand Prix win of the season.  

 

“The best win is to win at home,” said a delighted Ben, who was quick to praise his mount. “To ride probably the best horse in the world is an incredible feeling. Explosion and I started the year a little slower this year and he’s had two GCT seconds, but I took all of the risks today. He felt incredible — in a different league — and deserved this win.”

 

Re-live this incredible moment this weekend in our full GCTV Replay! Watch on Saturday 4 July from 10:30 BST/11:30 CET/04:30 EST - the replay will be available to watch on demand for 24 hours.