GCTV Replay: LGCT Grand Prix Madrid 2018

LGCT / Stefano Grasso

Ben Maher pulled off a breathtaking performance in the LGCT Grand Prix of Madrid in 2018 - Explosion W's first LGCT Grand Prix win!

 

Ben pulled off a hat-trick of wins in a spectacular weekend, taking the GCL Madrid title with London Knights, and the individual CSI5* speed class, before riding the then-9 year old chestnut gelding to victory ahead of home hero Eduardo Álvarez Aznar with Rokfeller de Pleville Bois Margot and his teammate Nicola Philippaerts with H&M Harley vd Bisschop. Remarkably both Aznar and Philippaerts clocked the exact same time - to the millisecond - uniquely finishing in joint second place in the LGCT Grand Prix. 

 

As the sun began its slow descent over the beautiful Club de Campo Villa de Madrid, Santiago Varela Ullastres’ course proved a tough challenge requiring scopey jumping, careful precision and absolute control. Using the full expanse of the foot perfect grass arena, and built specifically for the undulating field, the flowing track was a true test for the world’s best, promising mouth-watering sport for the fourth leg of the Championship race.

 

Re-live this stunning competition in our full GCTV Replay this Saturday 5 September from 10:30 BST/11:30 CET/04:30 EST. The replay will be available to watch on demand for 24 hours.