GCTV Replay: LGCT Grand Prix Hamburg 2018

LGCT / Stefano Grasso

The fifth leg of the 2018 LGCT championship race took place in the stunning city of Hamburg, Germany and a spectacular competition saw Harrie Smolders (NED) crowned the winner on his legendary stallion Don VHP Z. 

 

Packed grandstands watched the 2017 LGCT Champion and then-world number 1 take an incredible victory with this special horse, finishing ahead of young German talent Maurice Tebbel (GER) on Chacco Boy and Swiss star Martin Fuchs (SUI) with Chaplin.

 

Thousands of passionate and knowledgeable spectators headed to the sun-bathed grass arena, which provided the perfect backdrop for the thrilling finish to the LGCT Hamburg weekend, with families and fans treated to a sensational showdown featuring the very best horses and riders in the world. Speaking after his win, Harrie said:

 

We knew that Don VHP Z would like this ring very much — he always jumps very well here and we are happy he showed his great form today. We also had a jump-off that suited him very well. He’s a very efficient jumper and I have to be aware that I use his energy efficiently, but he’s so consistent and he keeps jumping clears in 1.60m classes.”

 

Don't miss our full GCTV replay of this stunning competition this Saturday 26 September from 10:30 BST/11:30 CET/04:30 EST. The replay will be available on demand for 24 hours.