GCTV Replay: LGCT Grand Prix Cannes 2018

Photo: LGCT / Stefano Grasso

A night of explosive top sport unfolded next to the shores of the Mediterranean for the 7th leg of the Longines Global Champions Tour circuit in 2018, with a supercharged victory for Peder Fredricson (SWE) and his powerful bay Hansson WL, who reigned supreme in Cannes against the heavyweight stars of show jumping.

 

It was a rollercoaster start to the LGCT Grand Prix of Cannes as course designer Uliano Vezzani’s tough first round track triggered multiple faults and retirements from a string of top riders. Kevin Staut (FRA) retired to huge disappointment from the crowd and was followed by Bertram Allen (IRL).

 

Under floodlights and in balmy temperatures on the French Riviera, more major players tumbled out of the 1.60m class including Maikel van der Vleuten (NED), Christian Ahlmann (GER), Alberto Zorzi (ITA) and overall LGCT ranking leader Edwina Tops-Alexander (AUS).

 

It was a true test of skill, speed and precision with dramatic action to the end. Re-live every moment of this incredible competition in our full replay this Saturday 10 October from 10:30 BST/11:30 CET/04:30 EST. The replay will be available on demand for 24 hours.