GCTV Replay: GCL R2 of Rome 2019

Rome is one of the most iconic and historic cities in the world, and the unique Stadio dei Marmi formed the perfect setting for an epic battle between the world's best riders in the GCL team competition. 

 

The competition was filled with dramatic action. Prague Lions emerged victorious after a knife-edge competition, which all came down to the final fence in a spectacular showdown. The Lions duo of Gerco Schroder and Marco Kutscher kept cool heads under enormous pressure with their horses Davino Q and Boeckmanns Lord Pezi Junior, delivering an almost flawless performance to take the win in Rome. But in a high-octane competition full of drama, nothing was guaranteed as fences fell left, right and centre.

 

The podium was rounded out by Madrid in Motion in second place, and Hamburg Giants in third. A delighted Gerco Schröder of Prague Lions said: "I’m very happy with my horses - both jumped fantastic yesterday and today. My teammate also did a fantastic job so I’m very happy!”

 

Take a look back at this stunning competition in our full GCTV Replay this Sunday 19 July from 10:30 BST/11:30 CET/04:30 EST. The replay will be available on demand for 24 hours.