GCTV Replay: GCL R2 of Chantilly 2019

This week we take a look back at the breathtaking GCL of Chantilly, in this renowned hub for equestrian sport. In a thrilling team competition, there was edge-of-the-seat action to the final fence after Berlin Eagles’ pairing of Ludger Beerbaum and Christian Kukuk kept cool heads under enormous pressure to convert their pole position following the first round into the team’s first win of the season, the only team finishing on a completely clean score.

 

Speaking after their win an elated Ludger said: “With only two teams clear from yesterday for us it was important to make two clear rounds today. Valkenswaard [United] put pressure on as they were so fast, and we knew with our horses we couldn't match that, so had to finish clear. There was a bit of pressure towards the end, but it paid off. Christian’s round was absolutely first class and it gave me a comfortable and good feeling for my round."

 

Christian agreed the pressure was on but the win has helped bolster the morale of the team: “For sure [it’s up there in my top wins ever] - I’m super happy, I was looking forward to being on the podium, but now it’s the first time that we win, so it’s even better. It gives us motivation, it’s close in the rankings, so it’s not over and we’ll go with a good feeling in the next shows, so hopefully we can climb up [the rankings]."

 

Re-live every moment of this stunning competition in our full GCTV replay on Sunday 21 June from 10:30 BST/11:30 CET/04:30 EST - the replay will then be available to watch on demand for 24 hours.